Obaseki swears in new deputy as Assembly sacks Shaibu

Please share


Eighteen members of the Edo State House of Assembly, on Monday, voted to impeach the deputy governor of the state, Philip Shaibu.

This follows the consideration of the report of the seven-man panel set up by the Chief Judge of the State, Justice Daniel Okungbowa.

In attendance at the House sitting were 20 members, including the Speaker, Blessing Agbebaku, but 18 members voted for the impeachment while one member abstained.

The deputy governor’s impeachment commenced with the Clerk of the House reading out Order 10, presentation and consideration of the report of the seven-man panel, which probed allegations of perjury and leaking of the government’s secrets against Shaibu.

Shortly after, the Majority Leader of the House, Charity Aiguobarueghan, representing Ovia North East 1, moved that the report be considered. His motion was seconded by the Minority Leader, Eric Okaka, Owan East.

Consequently, the Speaker assumed chairman of the committee of the whole House to consider the report, after the Majority and Minority Leaders moved and seconded a motion to that effect, respectively.

During the presentation of the report, Donald Okogbe, Akoko-Edo II, rose to object to Part C of the report but his objection was overruled by the Speaker.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *